History of St Mary’s School
The school was originally founded in 1824 in York Street, next to the parish church, and served a wide area until other local schools were built. An Infants’ schoolroom was added in 1888 but destroyed in an air raid in 1944. In 1969 it moved to a new building in Enford Street, and in 2000 a Nursery Class was added.
St Mary’s Today
We are a Good school, where ‘all members of the school community strive to ensure that pupils experience a very broad range of learning and social development opportunities. Pupils display excellent attitudes and behaviour, and they are well prepared to make a strong contribution to society in modern Britain’ (Ofsted 2016).
Our school has a long tradition of providing a broad and creative education for all our children. We want every child to achieve as highly as they can, in all areas of learning and life.
Children are proud of their school and seek to make it a harmonious place for every member of the school community. We are very well supported by our parents in striving to provide our children with a safe, nurturing environment in which to learn.
The school has an active ‘Friends’ association that includes parents and staff. The Friends have worked hard in recent years to both fundraise for projects, including redeveloping our school library, and to encourage all parents to become involved in the school. Employees from some local firms also volunteer on a regualr basis, supporting children with their reading and learning about Maths and Science.
We have a strong relationship with our Church, St Mary’s Bryanston Square, who lead acts of worship and run clubs in school for the children.
We are very proud of our whole school community, and we always enjoy welcoming visitors to St Mary’s. Please come and visit us!