School Logo

St Mary's Bryanston Square C E Primary School

Excellence With Compassion

Get in touch

Social Media

Early Years Foundation Stage

Our Early Years Foundation Stage unit consists of 1 Nursery class (F1) and 1 Reception class (F2). Within the unit, children will have the opportunity to engage in planned adult-led and self-initiated activities which will stimulate and develop their learning. The activities take place indoors and outdoors and are specifically created to deliver the Early Years curriculum.   The children in the Nursery and Reception class have opportunities to free flow between the 2 classrooms at specific times of the day.


The Early Years curriculum is made up of three prime areas of learning and four specific areas.

The prime areas of learning include:

Personal, Social and Emotional Development – Children learn essential skills that help them to develop their self-confidence and self-awareness, manage their behaviour and feelings and form relationships with others.


Communication and Language – Children develop important listening and attention skills, improve their understanding of language and develop their speaking skills.


Physical Development – Children develop both their fine and gross motor skills and learn how to apply these.

They also learn how to manage their own health and self-care.


The specific areas of learning include:


Literacy – Children study phonics every day to assist them with their early reading and writing skills. This area of learning promotes a love of reading and writing for enjoyment.


Mathematics – Children develop their number and shape, space and measuring skills through a variety of hands on, practical activities.


Understanding the World – Children learn about the world around them, people and communities and everyday technology.


Expressive Arts and Design – Children develop their imagination and use this in a variety of ways from exploring media and materials to playing musical instruments, dancing and singing.


The Early Years Curriculum is underpinned by four overarching principles which guide the work of all early years’ practitioners:


A Unique Child – Every child is a unique child who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.


Positive Relationships– Children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships.


Enabling Environments – Children learn and develop well in enabling environments, in which their experiences respond to their individual needs and there is a strong partnership between practitioners and parents and carers.


Learning and Development – Children develop and learn in different ways. The framework covers the education and care of all children in early years’ provision, including children with special educational needs and disabilities. Practitioners teach children by ensuring challenging, playful opportunities across the prime and specific areas of learning and development.


Assessment – observation is a key and daily task that ensures that the teacher is planning according to the children’s needs and interests. Messy play and Building Learning Power are also key parts of our curriculum as they have been found to help children in all areas of their learning.